Skip to main content

Journey Award

Do you know someone who is a great steward of gifts and resources? Nominate them for an Everence Journey Award!

Journey Awards are given annually to those who model noteworthy use of resources, including time, talent, money, health or the earth. Everence gives one national award and multiple regional awards.

Journey Award Chalice

Gift for recipients

Everence gives Journey Award recipients a combination award gift: a donation and a symbolic cup.

The national award is a donation of $5,000 to a nonprofit organization of their choice; the regional awards are $500. Recipients can use the donation to further efforts important to them.

Symbolic cup

The "blessing cup" is a symbol that Journey Award recipients are like vessels that hold and nurture resources for God's work during their faith journey. The “blessings cup” is used by Christians around the world to celebrate.

Guidelines and nomination form

The deadline is April 30 each year. Learn more below, including award criteria and how to nominate someone. Or contact Journey Award Coordinator Kenda Mishler, (800) 348-7468 ext. 3388.

Past Journey Award recipients

2015 - Marvin and Sarah Slabaugh, Harrisonburg, Virginia

2014 - Merv and Ardith Eigsti, Denver, Colorado

2013 - Tim and Kathy Wiens, Newton, Kansas

2012: Steve Steiner, Dalton, Ohio

2011: Luke and Dot Beidler, Norristown, Pennsylvania

2010: Joyce and Bill Zuercher, Hesston, Kansas 

2009: Tom Benevento and New Community Project, Harrisonburg, Virginia

2008: Dave and Krista Powell, Waynesboro, Virginia

2007: Jim and Cork Rufenacht and their local Food Resource Bank, Archbold, Ohio

2006: Jeanne and John Zook, Portland, Oregon

2005: Kevin and Pat Beck and Mission Woodworking, Bristol, Indiana, and John and Danile Martens, Mishawaka, Indiana

2004: Claude Good, Souderton, Pennsylvania, and Grace Community Church, Bryan, Ohio

2003: Grace Bant, Chicago, and The Tony & Dorothy Ramos Family, Scottdale, Pennsylvania

2002: Linda Shelly, Newton, Kansas, and Emma Mennonite Church and "Doc" and Olga Yarlaggadas, Topeka, Indiana

2001: Alan Reberg, Raleigh, North Carolina, and Green House and Messiah College, Grantham, Pennsylvania