Scholarship recipients 2018-2019

Everence news |

Forty-two students receive grants for 2018-2019

Everence honors scholarship winners

Forty-two students receive
grants for 2018-2019

Students who go above and beyond to take on leadership roles in their schools and communities – as well as do well in school – are being awarded Everence® college scholarships this summer

Everence is honoring 42 students with scholarships for the 2018-2019 academic year.

Recipients were chosen based on participating in and helping to lead extracurricular activities and community activities, along with responses to an essay question.

Nearly 160 students from across the country applied for scholarships – a benefit of being an Everence member – for the coming school year.

“Everence believes it’s important to support students as they work toward their college degrees,” said Kenda Mishler, Member Benefits Manager. “We want to reward young women and men committed to improving their communities and the world beyond their communities.”

Headshots of Kalina Reese, John Ebaugh and Gabriella Ferra
The largest national scholarship – $2,000 – will go to Kalina Reese of New Paris, Indiana, a student at Calvin College, Grand Rapids, Michigan.
Recipients of $1,000 national scholarships are John Ebaugh of Holtwood, Pennsylvania, who attends Ohio Christian University, Circleville, Ohio; and Gabriella Ferra of Cape Coral, Florida, a student at Florida Institute of Technology, Melbourne, Florida.

Thirty-nine other students are receiving $750 scholarships:

Headshots of Andre Acosta, Livia Anderson, Emma Beachy, Denver Beck, Eszter Bentch and Jared Birky
Andrea Acosta of Lititz, Pennsylvania, Bloomsburg University, Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania; Livia Anderson of Lansdale, Pennsylvania, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland; Emma Beachy of Kalona, Iowa, Bethel College, North Newton, Kansas; Denver Beck of Archbold, Ohio, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; Eszter Bentch of Telford, Pennsylvania, Wheaton College, Wheaton, Illinois; and Jared Birky of Kouts, Indiana, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana.

Headshots of Emily compaan, Emily Daniels, Karly Eichenaur, Cade Fisher, Natalie Graber and Carrie Hansher
Emily Compaan of Waconia, Minnesota, University of Northwestern St. Paul, St. Paul, Minnesota; Emily Daniels of Wooster, Ohio, Taylor University, Upland, Indiana; Karly Eichenauer of North Manchester, Indiana, Manchester University, North Manchester, Indiana; Cade Fisher of Goshen, Indiana, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; Natalie Graber of Divide, Colorado, Bethel College, North Newton, Kansas; and Carrie Hamsher of Kidron, Ohio, Bethel College, Mishawaka, Indiana.

Headshots of Lauren Hartzler, Anna Hershey, Marcus Huber, Guhn Hur, Bryce Kready and Shayna Landis
Lauren Hartzler of Manheim, Pennsylvania, Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Anna Hershey of Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, Misericordia University, Dallas, Pennsylvania; Marcus Huber of Lititz, Pennsylvania, Temple University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Guhn Hur of Pasadena, California, UCLA, Los Angeles, California; Bryce Kready of Manheim, Pennsylvania, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; and Shayna Landis of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Messiah College, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania.

Headshots of Daniel Lehman, Emma Lown, Faith Manickam, Micah martin, Cosette Mast and Grace Maust
Daniel Lehman of West Liberty, Ohio, Mount Vernon Nazarene University, Mount Vernon, Ohio; Emma Lown of Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, Lancaster Bible College, Lancaster, Pennsylvania; Faith Manickam of Hesston, Kansas, Hesston College, Hesston, Kansas; Micah Martin of Ephrata, Pennsylvania, Gordon College, Wenham, Massachusetts; Cosette Mast of Rockingham, Virginia, Indiana Wesleyan University, Marion, Indiana; and Grace Maust of Boise, Idaho, Grand Valley State University, Allentown, Michigan.

Headshots of Jacob Myers, joanna Niesley, Janelle Preheim, Anjali Roos, Emily Schrock and Brian Shenk
Jacob Myers of Archbold, Ohio, Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Joanna Niesley of Marietta, Pennsylvania, Cedarville University, Cedarville, Ohio; Janelle Preheim of Lancaster, Pennsylvania, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; Anjali Roos of Altadena, California, University of California Santa Cruz; Emily Schrock of Goshen, Indiana, University of Indianapolis, Indianapolis, Indiana; and Brian Shenk of Hutchinson, Kansas, Hutchinson Community College, Hutchinson, Kansas.

Headshots of Anna Smucker, Naomi Springer, Joseph Stoltzfus, Mason Stoltzfus, Alexis Stoner and Clay Waidelich
Anna Smucker of Goshen, Indiana, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; Naomi Springer of Minier, Illinois, Illinois State University, Normal, Illinois; Joseph Stoltzfus of Goshen, Indiana, Goshen College, Goshen, Indiana; Mason Stoltzfus of New Holland, Pennsylvania, Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Alexis Stoner of Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, Chestnut Hill College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; and Clay Waidelich of Wauseon, Ohio, Wittenberg University, Springfield, Ohio.

Headshots of Noah Yoder, Guadalupe Zarate and Maddison Ziolkowski
Noah Yoder of Madison, Wisconsin, Eastern Mennonite University, Harrisonburg, Virginia; Guadalupe Zarate of Harrisonburg, Virginia, Bridgewater College, Bridgewater, Virginia; and Maddison Ziolkowski of North Liberty, Indiana, Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana.

Jim Miller


Jim Miller

Everence scholarships

How to apply

Applications for 2019-2020 college scholarships will be accepted beginning Jan. 1, 2019. The application period will continue through the end of February 2019.

We'll post the 2019-2020 scholarship application on our website in November.

For more information, contact Kenda Mishler, Member Benefits Manager, at